PGA Championship 2022

PGA Championship 2022: There have only been three back-to-back winners of the PGA Championship in the stroke play era. That won’t change after the 2022 tournament, as last year’s winner Phil Mickelson has decided not to defend his title.

There will still be several contenders in the field who could look to add another win to their resumes. Brooks Koepka won back-to-back PGA Championships in 2018 and 2019, and could become only the third golfer to win three times in the event. Rory McIlroy is in a similar position, as he, too, has won the event twice (2012 and 2014).

But a good deal of the attention will likely be on Tiger Woods. The four-time PGA Championship winner is making his second major appearance since his February 2021 car crash. He got off to a promising start in the 2022 Masters, but dropped on the leaderboard after making the cut through the first two rounds. He could tie Jack Nicklaus for the most wins in the event in the stroke play era if he finishes on top by the end of Sunday.

Watch the PGA Championship live

Date: Thursday, May 19
TV channel: ESPN
Live stream: ESPN+, fuboTV

TV coverage of the PGA Championship will be split between ESPN and CBS. ESPN will handle the first two days, while CBS will take over the afternoon portions of the final two rounds.

PGA Championship TV schedule 2022

ESPN will be the exclusive home of the PGA Championship over the first two days before CBS takes over for afternoon coverage in the final two rounds on Saturday and Sunday. ESPN+ will begin streaming the featured groups and select holes in the morning each day before ESPN handles the main broadcast in the afternoon.

PGA Championship odds for 2022

Heading into the 2022 PGA Championship, Scottie Scheffler, Jon Rahm and Rory McIlroy have opened as early favorites to win the tournament, according to odds from FanDuel Sportsbook. Neither Scheffler nor Rahm have won the PGA Championship, while McIlroy is one of only three golfers expected to compete in the tournament who has won the event multiple times along with Tiger Woods (four) and Brooks Koepka (two).

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *